Color Wheel Color: Choosing the right hue for the exterior of your home

Okay… it’s time. We’ve lived in this house for 8 years (how did that happen??!!) and it was 4 years old when we bought it. TIME TO PAINT! Past time, actually. A home we’ve been so proud of… and all of a sudden it looks old and unkempt. There’s nothing like paint to spice it up and make it shiny and new again.

So you’d think picking a paint color would be a snap, right? I mean, after all, I am certified in this!! Ha! Put me in someone else’s home and I’ve got no problem making decisions for them. But when it comes to my own, I have to go right back to basics. I’ll share with you here my process for selecting a new color.

The first consideration was the prior color. I liked the yellow. Loved it when we first saw the house. For years, people have actually stopped by and asked for the exact shade. But really, I’m not much of a “yellow” person. Yellow itself is a warm color, but the variation on my house was too cool. Everything inside of the house is warm. And so I knew right off the bat that I needed to stick with warmer colors.

Next, I considered my orange, barrel-tiled roof. Not much inspiration color-wise, but because it’s not neutral, I have to make sure the color I pick coordinates well.

Believe it or not, my most important consideration was my living room. No, of course you can’t see it from the outside. But it is the first room you enter when you come in the front door. And I believe that in setting a mood for a home, it starts curbside and should be maintained from the outside in. My living room color is Sherwin Williams Harmonic Tan. It’s a warm-neutral yellow with a green undertone. Here it is here:

Knowing this, it definitely narrowed my choices. My first thought was to just use the same color outside. But no, too boring for me! I eliminated that color right away.

So, I did what I always do when I’m facing a color choice… I pulled out my trusty color wheel. I love using the color wheel for 2 reasons…first is because it gives me automatic combinations that fit together perfectly and are found together in nature. Second, because it takes the pressure off of me! It’s not really “me” picking the color, it’s nature. Who am I to fool with Mother Nature? If it works for her, it works for me!

Knowing that Harmonic Tan is yellow with a green undertone, I have a few options.

I first looked at the yellow-green compliment, which is red violet. I looked my red violet choices in my Sherwin Williams color deck and nothing really spoke to me. Colors opposite of each other on the color wheel work well together, but are very different and create energy. I wanted less energy in my combinations, so I again narrowed my choices and looked at the colors on either side of yellow green. That would be yellow and green… for those having a hard time following along! Colors sitting next to each other on the color wheel can create a seamless harmony with each other.

Yellow, of course, would not be much of a difference from what the house currently looks like. But my choices now were warmer. I knew they would go with the interior, but again, wasn’t really feeling any of what was in front of me. This is the part of the color selection process that is purely personal. You know it’s going to work because it’s on the color wheel. But you have to like it. It’s a matter of taste and everyone’s is pretty unique. No right or wrong answers, which means no pressure, because you already know it’s going to work.

I then looked at the greens, and bada bing bada bang… BINGO. I found a color I really like….it’s called Ramie. I checked with our homeowner’s association and it’s been approved, so we are ready to roll! The painters come next week.

Check back here on Monday and I’ll show you a way to visualize your color decisions before you actually commit to them.

Enjoy your weekend!

This entry was posted in color choices,, color wheel, picking a paint color, sherwin williams, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

