My Fall Wreath

A month ago, I became totally inspired by a this blog: A Mommy’s Life with a Touch of Yellow.

In it, she described how to make a ruffled, burlap wreath. I knew this was exactly what I wanted to do for my front door. With just a few modifications, I’ve made it my own.

If you’re interested in making one for yourself, the tutorial on the link above is fabulous. I tend to cheat my way through things though (I will never admit this to my children!) and made a few modifications. Instead of making the wreath form myself, I bought a pre-made form (from straw) at Joann’s. I then wrapped it with strips of burlap to cover the straw. The only other thing I did differently on the basic construction was how I made my ruffles. Instead of sewing or pinning each individual strip of burlap, I just stapled them. It worked like a charm and was very quick and easy.

I chose the red and green color scheme based on the colors of my front door and my living room. Red and green are perfect color complements. The green is a good match for my living room walls, which you see the minute you open the front door.

When I was at Joann’s buying the wreath form, I found this beautiful red flower that I just died for.  It’s made from shaved wood that was dyed red. I thought it was the perfect texture to go with the burlap. Problem was, there was only one, and I wanted to make 2 wreaths. I just kept browsing around the store, collecting my supplies and trying to figure out what else I could do to spice up the wreath. Something compelled me to go back to the floral department…I was not going to leave that store until I found the perfect “bling.” I rummaged through everything and was so thrilled to find another flower that had fallen way down deep in the bin… I might have even screamed! I got that total “Aha moment” rush and couldn’t wait to get home to create.

Here’s my second wreath:

And here’s my front door:

Thank you, Whit, at A Mommy’s Life. Now everyone, go check her out!

This entry was posted in Decorating, Fall Themes, Holiday, Seasonal Decorating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Fall Wreath

  1. Nancy says:

    I Love them, and your Front Door area looks Beautiful~~

    Nancy

  2. What the perfect compliment to your entryway. The red is so inviting. I’m glad you didn’t mind me using your pumpkin photo. After I did the post I wondered if you had any notes on your blog about not using your photos. Are you in the Tampa Bay area?

  3. I LOVE it! And your whole porch looks fab.

Leave a Reply

