My Pumpkin Addiction

Actual text conversation between my husband and me:

Me (in innocent texting voice):R u still at the grocery store? Can u pick me up a big, round pumpkin?

Him: Stop. You have a problem. I may do a pumpkin intervention.

Suffice it to say, he came home with just the milk and eggs.

I can’t help it. I just love decorating pumpkins. I wanted to do a tutorial (as promised in my earlier post) on carving with my Dremel tool. So when Brian came home empty handed, I was disappointed…for about a minute. And then I remembered I had an extra foam pumpkin I could work on!

Here’s how it went:

First, I downloaded some clip art that I liked and printed it on my ink jet printer.

Next, I gathered my supplies.

Dremel Tool, Saral Transfer Paper, my design, a ballpoint pen and my pumpkin

To get my witch onto the pumpkin, I layered a piece of Saral paper on the pumpkin, topped it with the design, and taped them both to the pumpkin. Don’t worry about being perfect. It’s hard to get a flat sheet of paper to go up against the round pumpkin. Luckily, you don’t have to be very fussy.

Using the ballpoint pen, I traced the design on the paper. When I removed the paper, the red backing of the the Saral paper stayed on the pumpkin.

I’m ready to bring out my bad boy, Dremel.

I first worked on the outline making sure to stay as steady as possible.

Then I moved inward to carve out the rest of the design.

Voila! Here she is:

And here’s how she sits, now on my porch.

And this is what sits across her, on the other side of my entryway:

With less than a week to go before Halloween, I’m hoping to get a real one carved. Guess it means I’ll have to make a trip to the grocery store myself!

This entry was posted in Decorating, Fall Themes, Halloween, Holiday, Pumpkins, Seasonal Decorating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Pumpkin Addiction

  1. Al says:

    I love it! Great looking entry way

  2. Very cool pumpkin carving design. How long did it take you?

    Brittany

Leave a Reply

