Christmas Quickie #2 – The Dining RoomTable

As promised, I’m taking you inside. We’ll stop first at my dining room table. It’s one of the first things you see when you enter my house and I always like to have it “dressed” for the season.

In the spirit of the times, I’ve definitely scaled back this year. Everything I’m seeing in all the trade magazines is about simplicity this year. I’m doing my darndest to keep up with the trend!

In the past, I’ve used just about everything I own and tried to make groupings that were interesting. I’m still using what I’ve got, but I’ve pared it down. For example, I bought the table runner about 4 years ago when it was on sale at Target. (I do love Target holiday items!) Because I got such a good deal on it, I bought 3 of them. I normally run all three going across the short side of the table. This year, I just used the one and put it diagonally. Funny, but I like it just as much or more.

Most everything else is also from the past. Santa’s been around my house for several years but for the past few, he’s taken center stage on the dining room table. Really, the only new items are the mirror under the “Believe” sign, the pinecones (which I got for a steal at Robin Story Designs during her warehouse sale), and the glittery, round, red candle. Those of you who are regular readers will recognize my trusty old Pottery Barn candlesticks. I use those bad boys everywhere and all the time!

Two more mentions… the wreath behind the table was new last year. I bought it on clearance the year before and thought it was a perfect addition to the dining room. And this year, I have really minimized my efforts on the chandelier. I have all kinds of twinkling jewel garland that I have enjoyed hanging every which way and the other. But this year, even though I had, early on, envisioned somehow turning it into an upside down Christmas tree, I kept the chandelier very, very simple. And I like it. Less time on the ladder for me and I think it works just fine.

Here’s a closer peek before I go:

The Lettered Cottage
This entry was posted in Christmas, Christmas, Decorating, Holiday, Seasonal Decorating, Tables, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Christmas Quickie #2 – The Dining RoomTable

  1. Geri says:

    How loely, You are so good with your quickies. I Love them.

  2. Diane D says:

    So pretty! I love simplicity, just can’t practice it…

  3. rachelle says:

    I love how simple yet elegant this is! Thanks for sharing it. I’d love if if you’d stop by my blog and check out the giveaway I’m having for a Dremel Trio!

  4. shelia says:

    How gorgeous! You scaled back? πŸ™‚ Couldn’t be any prettier.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia πŸ˜‰

    • Believe it or not, I did! I have collected so many things through the years. It was liberating to scale it down! And I think sometimes less is more, don’t you agree? Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

