How I Use Pinterest

I’ve been using Pinterest for a few months now and love it. It first came in handy to just have an online spot to organize the things I love. But now I find it’s the perfect communication solution for working and sharing ideas with other people. The concept is simple. You see something online that you want to share and then you simply “pin” it to an online board where everyone can see it. You can upload your own photos, too. You can even make boards that others can pin to, and control who gets to put where.

There’s the capability to share my “pins” on Facebook, but generally, I prefer not to. I pin a lot, and I think it might be annoying for everyone in my social circles to see all my pins. But I have noticed a lot of interest (pardon the pun) in Pinterest on Facebook, and thought I’d share what I’ve learned so far.

It’s easy to get started. Here’s a few simple steps to get you going:

1. Go to www.Pinterest.com

2. Click on “Request an Invite.”

3. Enter your email address.

4. You will get the invite soon. If you don’t get it within 24 hours, re-request it. The first time I did it, I waited, and waited and waited. I finally got fed up and entered my email again. I got the invite within an hour. I don’t know if this was a glitch or not, but I offer my experience as a warning.

Once you are a member, the first thing you are going to want to do it to add the “Pin It” button to your bookmarks bar. The following instruction is taken directly from the Pinterst Help page:

To install the “Pin It” button in Firefox:

  1. Display your Bookmarks Bar by clicking View > Toolbars > Bookmarks Toolbar
  2. Drag the “Pin It” button to your Bookmarks Toolbar
  3. When you are browsing the web, push the “Pin It” button to pin an image

Once installed in your browser, the “Pin It” button lets you grab an image from any website and add it to one of your pinboards. When you pin from a website, we automatically grab the source link so we can credit the original creator.

From there, start creating your boards and pinning. Don’t be afraid… it’s really easy and you really can’t mess anything up. It’s a very simple device and I’m sure you’re all going to find different ways to use this handy tool. If you’ve got any questions, put them in the comments section below. I’ll do my best to find the answers and I’m sure whatever I don’t know, someone else will.

If you’re not ready to dive right in with your own account, feel free to follow what I’m doing. Just click on the link below and watch me go!

Follow Me on Pinterest

This entry was posted in Pinterest, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

