Tangerine Tango in The Big Apple

One of the most fun parts of my job is reading and learning about projected trends and then seeing if they actually come true. A game I play with myself is to actually try and guess what the new color of the year will be. I took part in The Great American Teach In this year back in November. A student asked me what color I thought would be front and center in 2012, and I said, “Orange.” So I was really proud of myself when my projection came true when Pantone announced “Tangerine Tango” the color of the year. I was even happier that I had actually said it publicly. Made me feel like I know my stuff!

At any rate, just because a color is announced in the beginning of the year doesn’t necessarily mean that I see it everywhere right away. I live in Tampa, which has a fairly large population, but I wouldn’t say we are on the cutting edge of fashion. It usually takes awhile for styles to trickle down to us. I say this, making an exception for tropical trends and bathing suit fashions. As dreadful as bathing suit shopping is, have you ever shopped for one in a state that is nowhere near water? Let me tell you, it can be very depressing… but I digress.

My point in all this is that I was in New York City last week. And wowzer… Tangerine Tango was everywhere! There wasn’t a direction I looked in that it wasn’t popping me right in the eye. Every store window was showing it… from H&M to Saks to Apple. It was crazy. So colorful…and it looked great against the backdrop of the cold winter sky. It was great proof of the pick me up power of color.

While I wasn’t able to snap many photos, I jotted down notes and assembled some items here for you to see. I don’t usually like to post other people’s photos, but I’ve made an exception in this case. I think it’s really fun to see how this color is sure to infect our lives.

Enjoy the view….

H&M Nail Polish

Coach Bag

Mens ChronoGraph Watch

Earbuds

Nintendo DS

Puma Golf Bag

Sony Cybershot Camera

iPod

Diane von Furstenberg dress

Fleece Gloves

Brooks Brothers Boat Shoes

This entry was posted in color choices,, Color News, color wheel, Decorating, picking a paint color, Tangerine Tango, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tangerine Tango in The Big Apple

  1. Geri says:

    Great………………………..Knowledge

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

