How to Stylize a Bookcase

(Article written for the March 2012 issue of the Westchase WOW)

When it comes adding a little pizzazz to your home, a bookcase can be your best friend. It’s functional, usually takes up space that would otherwise look glaringly empty, and if you’re willing to think out of the box, doesn’t have to just hold books!

The first thing I assess when I look at a bookcase is does it add or detract from the overall ambiance of the room. If it is disheveled and unorganized, it can give the whole room a feeling of clutter.

I then look around the space and try to incorporate the bookcase into the overall decorating theme of the area. If there’s no theme, I start with color.

Job one is to empty the shelves. If I need more color in the room, I paint the back of the bookcase. If I really want it to pop, I cover the back walls with wallpaper or wrapping paper. Wrapping paper, cut to size, is fun because it can be changed out very easily.

After the shelves are cleaned, I sort out the items that were on it before. I ask, do they all have to stay? Can anything else fit? How can I make the arrangement more interesting?

If all the books have to stay and there’s no room for anything else, I sort the books according to topic, color and size. I may put all the travel books together standing in one corner and then lay all the biographies on their sides next to them. Varying books standing up with books lying down creates visual interest and balance. I might also decide to add more color and unity by simply covering the books with scrapbook paper.

If I have room on the shelves, I try to incorporate other items. In the photo here, you’ll see I used decorative boxes (which hide old family photographs), trophies and greenery.

Spending and afternoon stylizing your bookcases will pay off with a more cohesive look to your home.

Aside | This entry was posted in Decorating, Home Office, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Stylize a Bookcase

  1. Wanda says:

    Hi, I am a newish home decor blogger in Westchase and found you from the WOW!
    We are an Army family that moved here a year ago and are currently updating our new home in the Greens! I would love to get involved in some decorating projects in the area! Free of course, Im just a home decor addict! Please let me know if you ever need an assistant! I would love to volunteer my time!

    • Hi Wanda… thanks for reaching out to me! I checked out your blog… you’re great! I’d love to meet your for coffee sometime. Feel free to call or email me from my CK Designs page on my blog. Can’t wait to meet you!

Leave a Reply

