Make Something Every Day

So well… what happened?!! I can’t believe it’s almost July and I’m embarrassed that 3 months have passed since my last post. Yikes! Life really does move at warp speed sometimes.

Since March, I’ve done many color consultations, a few redesigns and lots of living! We’ve had several milestone birthdays in my family and my son graduated from high school. In fact, we are taking him to college in 2 days!

In the midst of all this activity and “life assessing” opportunities, I’ve come to discover a simple truth. I like making things. And I like making things for other people. So while my life is hardly ever predictable, the things that get me motivated have really never changed. That is, I love the creative process and learning new things. Sometimes it’s hard to keep my momentum on my passion du jour, but during busy times like these, I’m forced to examine what it is that I like to do best. As a result, I’m re-evaluating my toolbox. In the busy hubbub of this summer, I’ll be brushing up on a few old skills and learning some new ones, as well.

And while it’s a little late for New Year’s Resolutions, I’ve decided that my motto for the rest of the year will be, “Make Something Every Day.” (To make myself feel better as a measure of my success, if I don’t actually create something, I better have done something to “make” life better for someone else!) Yesterday I crafted a few personal greeting cards. Today I baked some delicious chocolate chip cookies. I also designed the new header for my blog. I’m excited to figure out what I’m going to be doing tomorrow! Whatever it is, I hope to learn, to share and to create.

As a side note, the book that jump started this process is “Steal Like an Artist. Ten Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative,” by Austin Kleon. It’s a quick read and I highly recommend it not only for creative types, but for everyone else as well. There’s lots of good life advice… in fact, I’m hoping my son will read it before he leaves.

Anyone care to join me on this creative journey? Comments are welcome!

Aside | This entry was posted in Creativity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Make Something Every Day

  1. Kim Campbell says:

    You go girl! You inspire me CK! Show me what you make next.
    XoXo, KC

  2. Beth says:

    I wish I had the creativity to make something every day!! I will be thinking of you when you take Nick up to Tallahassee. It is hard to see your kids off to college…to watch them go out on their own! I know he will do very well though. And you will too!!!!

  3. Thanks for the comments, girlies! Just “made” a cup of coffee… should I count it? 😉 This is all really just a big experiment. I hope I’m successful! And thanks, Beth, for the kind words about Nick. We’re all going to be fine. He’s so excited and we couldn’t be happier for him. It’s so much fun watching them grow into themselves. If you can’t tell… I’m a very proud mama!

  4. Donna Gauntlett says:

    Cindy,
    I love this blog…you are so right. I have to create every day or I feel like something is missing. Thanks for sharing your heart.

    • Thanks, Donna. I LOVE seeing your work on Facebook. What you do is so unique. You are hugely talented and I’m really flattered that you like my blog. Happy 4th!

Leave a Reply

